Welcomes You

Live webcast features discussion about mission with Episcopal Presiding Bishop, Archbishop Desmond Tutu

The Episcopal Church
Office of Public Affairs

May 19 from Washington National Cathedral
Martes, Mayo 15, 2012

A live webcast featuring an enlightening conversation about mission between Episcopal Church Presiding Bishop Katharine Jefferts Schori and Archbishop Desmond Tutu will be available at no fee on Saturday, May 19 at 3:30 pm Eastern (2:30 pm Central, 1:30 pm Mountain, 12:30 pm Pacific, 11:30 am Alaska, 9:30 am Hawaii) on the website of the Episcopal Church www.episcopalchurch.org and will be available on demand afterwards.

Hosted by Washington National Cathedral, the event will be moderated by David Crabtree, news anchor at WRAL-TV in North Carolina and an ordained deacon.

Framing the conversation on the Anglican Five Marks of Mission, the questions to be explored are: “What does Mission mean to me”; and “What does mission look like in the world.”

 

The May 19 event is the first in a series of discussions about mission with the Presiding Bishop and other prominent religious leaders.

 

The event is ideal for congregation and group viewing, adult forums, discussion groups, etc.

 

Archbishop Desmond Tutu: http://www.tutu.org/bio-desmond-tutu.php

Presiding Bishop Katharine Jefferts Schori: http://www.episcopalchurch.org/page/presiding-bishop

 

The Anglican Five Marks of Mission

The Five Marks of Mission were developed by the Anglican Consultative Council between 1984 and 1990 and have won wide acceptance among Anglicans, and have given parishes and dioceses around the world a practical and memorable "checklist" for mission activities.

 

The Five Marks of Mission are:

1. To proclaim the Good News of the Kingdom

2. To teach, baptize and nurture new believers

3. To respond to human need by loving service

4. To seek to transform unjust structures of society

5. To strive to safeguard the integrity of creation and sustain and renew the life of the earth

 

The Five Marks of Mission: http://www.episcopalchurch.org/page/five-marks-mission

 

Washington National Cathedral

Washington National Cathedral is called to be the spiritual home for the nation. It seeks to be a catalyst for spiritual harmony in our nation, renewal in the churches, reconciliation among faiths, and compassion in our world.

 

Washington National Cathedral: http://www.nationalcathedral.org/

 

 

For more information contact Neva Rae Fox, Office of Public Affairs, publicaffairs@episcopalchurch.org.

 

 

The Episcopal Church: www.episcopalchurch.org

 

Facebook: www.facebook.com/episcopalian

Twitter: twitter.com/iamepiscopalian