Video now available of conversation about mission with Presiding Bishop, Archbishop Desmond Tutu

The Episcopal Church
Office of Public Affairs

Samedi, Mai 19, 2012

The on-demand video of the May 19 live webcast featuring an engaging conversation about mission between Episcopal Church Presiding Bishop Katharine Jefferts Schori and Archbishop Desmond Tutu is now available at no fee on the website of the Episcopal Church at http://www.episcopalchurch.org/page/conversation-mission-21st-century

Hosted by Washington National Cathedral, the 35-minute event was moderated by David Crabtree, news anchor at WRAL-TV in North Carolina and an ordained deacon.

Presiding Bishop Jefferts Schori and Archbishop Tutu focused on God’s mission in our lives and in the world, as related to the Anglican Five Marks of Mission.

Archbishop Desmond Tutu: http://www.tutu.org/bio-desmond-tutu.php

Presiding Bishop Katharine Jefferts Schori: http://www.episcopalchurch.org/page/presiding-bishop

The Anglican Five Marks of Mission

The Five Marks of Mission were developed by the Anglican Consultative Council between 1984 and 1990 and have won wide acceptance among Anglicans, and have given parishes and dioceses around the world a practical and memorable "checklist" for mission activities.

The Five Marks of Mission are:
1. To proclaim the Good News of the Kingdom
2. To teach, baptize and nurture new believers
3. To respond to human need by loving service
4. To seek to transform unjust structures of society
5. To strive to safeguard the integrity of creation and sustain and renew the life of the earth

The Five Marks of Mission: http://www.episcopalchurch.org/page/five-marks-mission

Washington National Cathedral

Washington National Cathedral is called to be the spiritual home for the nation. It seeks to be a catalyst for spiritual harmony in our nation, renewal in the churches, reconciliation among faiths, and compassion in our world.

Washington National Cathedral: http://www.nationalcathedral.org/

For more information contact Neva Rae Fox, Office of Public Affairs, publicaffairs@episcopalchurch.org.