The Genesis Covenant and Green Certification: A means for energy savings in Episcopal congregations

The Episcopal Church
Office of Public Affairs

Genesis Covenant resource guide released - Free webinar slated for June 7
Jeudi, Mai 31, 2012

Congregations can experience substantial energy savings while helping to reduce greenhouse gas emissions through the innovative Genesis Covenant. Approved by General Convention 2009, the Genesis Covenant is a national ecumenical effort by religious communities to reduce the greenhouse gas emissions from their facilities by 50% within 10 years.

Michael Schut, Episcopal Church Economic and Environmental Affairs Officer, noted, “Reducing greenhouse gas emissions is one practical way of living out faith’s call to care for the poor, as the poor are those most negatively impacted by climate changes caused by those very emissions.” 

A new resource guide by the Episcopal Church, “Getting Started on the Genesis Covenant: Reduce Energy Use, Save Money, and Care for God’s Creation” is available here: http://www.episcopalchurch.org/sites/default/files/genesis_convenant_final.pdf

 

Webinar

A free webinar, “Genesis Covenant and Certification for Episcopal Churches” will be held on June 7, 8 pm – 9 pm Eastern (7 pm – 8 pm Central; 6 pm – 7 pm Mountain; 5 pm to 6 pm Pacific; 4 pm to 5 pm Alaska; 2 pm to 3 pm Hawaii).

Led by Schut and members of GreenFaith, a national interfaith program, the webinar will: introduce the Genesis Covenant resource guide; highlight aspects of the GreenFaith Certification Program; and hear from two Episcopal parishes about their successes within the Certification Program: St. David’s in Austin, TX and Grace in Chattanooga, TN.

 

To register for the webinar:  https://www.z2systems.com/np/clients/greenfaith/event.jsp?event=198

 

Can't make it? Register to receive the webinar recording afterwards:  https://www.z2systems.com/np/clients/greenfaith/event.jsp?event=198

 

For more information contact Michael Schut.

 

 

 Links

The Episcopal Church: www.episcopalchurch.org

Facebook: www.facebook.com/episcopalian

Twitter: twitter.com/iamepiscopalian

YouTube: www.youtube.com/TECtube

 

Green Faith: www.greenfaith.org