Resources posted, space still available for March 6 online forum: Human Trafficking: A Churchwide Conversation

The Episcopal Church
Office of Public Affairs

* Resources now available online * Limited slots; pre-registration required * Ideal for group viewing * Submit questions to the panelists
Lundi, Février 25, 2013

Space is still available for Human Trafficking: A Churchwide Conversation, hosted by Episcopal Church Presiding Bishop Katharine Jefferts Schori on Wednesday, March 6 to explore the church’s work in Human Trafficking.

The hour-long Human Trafficking: A Churchwide Conversation will originate from the Chapel of Christ the Lord in the Church Center in New York City beginning at 2 pm Eastern, 1 pm Central, noon Mountain, 11 am Pacific, 10 am Alaska, 9 am Hawaii, 8 pm Europe, 3 am Thursday Taiwan. Human Trafficking: A Churchwide Conversation will be presented via WebEx.  Participation is limited; advance registration is mandatory. To register contact trafficking@episcopalchurch.org

The forum will be available on-demand following the event.  Either live or on-demand, Human Trafficking: A Churchwide Conversation is ideal for individual or group watching and discussion, or on-demand viewing for discussion groups, community gatherings, classes, and other get-togethers.

Presiding Bishop Jefferts Schori will lead Human Trafficking: A Churchwide Conversation with an address that will focus on “What Is Human Trafficking and How Does It Link with Violence against Women and Girls.” 

Among the panelists are: Alexander D. Baumgarten, Episcopal Church Director of Office of Government Relations and Sarah Dreier, Legislative Representative for International Policy and Advocacy, addressing advocacy aspects on the federal, state and local levels; the Rev. Brian McVey of the Diocese of Iowa on what ministries are operating around the Episcopal Church in response to human trafficking; the Rev. Terrie Robinson from the Anglican Communion on communion-wide actions and policies; Laura Russell, Esq. from the Diocese of Newark on the church’s policies and implementation based on General Convention resolutions; and Main, on the UN’s response to human trafficking and Episcopal Church involvement.

Viewers are invited to submit questions to the panelists either prior to the forum or during.  To submit a question, email trafficking@episcopalchurch.org

 

Resources

An encompassing list of resources on this topic is available here  http://www.episcopalchurch.org/page/human-trafficking.  The webpage will be continuously updated with additional resources.


Resources, including links, photos, downloadable documents and other info about human trafficking, can be submitted for inclusion at trafficking@episcopalchurch.org

 

For more information contact Main at trafficking@episcopalchurch.org