Tuition subsidies available, free webinars scheduled for innovative Episcopal Church – GreenFaith partnership

Mercredi, Septembre 7, 2011
[September 7, 2011] Michael Schut, Episcopal Church Economic/Environmental Affairs Officer, has announced the availability of tuition subsidies and the scheduling of two free webinars regarding the partnership between the Episcopal Church and GreenFaith.

For the past year, the Episcopal Church has been in partnership with GreenFaith, a leading national religious environmental group, to assist churches of all sizes in their efforts to “go green” through a certification program.

The GreenFaith Certification Program is a two-year, holistic process engaging an entire congregation through education, worship, environmental justice advocacy, building and grounds, and developing relationships with the larger interfaith community.

The Economic/Environmental Affairs Office and GreenFaith are underwriting 50% of the tuition for churches, enabling them to enroll for a discounted cost of $250 â€" $750. Churches in the program receive guidance and support, including one-on-one mentoring, resources, free webinars, and peer support.

Application deadline for tuition subsidies for the program is December 1 and May 1, 2012. For more information about the subsidies, visit
http://greenfaith.org/success-stories/episcopal-church-partnership-certification

Additionally, GreenFaith is offering two free hour-long webinars to help congregational leadership understand the program and to answer questions and address concerns.

“Sign-up for one of the upcoming webinars to find out how you can join this holistic two-year greening program,” Schut said. “It’s well supported by excellent staff and has the potential to save your congregation money as well as re-vitalize ministry within your community.”

Webinars will be held:

Monday, September 19, 8:30 pm Eastern/7:30 pm Central/6:30 pm Mountain/5:30 pm Pacific/4:30 pm Alaska/2:30 pm Hawaii.

Thursday, October 6, 8 pm Eastern/7 pm Central/6 pm Mountain/5 pm Pacific/4 pm Alaska/2 pm Hawaii.

Recordings of the webinars will be available online afterwards for those that cannot participate.

To participate in the webinars or for more information contact Stacey Kennealy, skennealy@greenfaith.org.

According to GreenFaith’s Executive Director, the Rev. Fletcher Harper, the program is the nation’s first interfaith environmental certification program designed specifically for houses of worship. The program empowers churches, mosques and temples to become strong environmental leaders by following researched and tested environmental guidelines.

Goals of Episcopal Church-GreenFaith partnership, Schut explained, include supporting the development of faithful, strong environmental leadership; helping congregations learn to reduce their operating costs; and modeling creation care, spirituality and justice throughout a congregation’s life and practice. Among the tools and resources provided by GreenFaith to participating churches are webinars, web-based resources, and phone/email support.

“The GreenFaith Certification Program has inspired and guided us to take our environmental efforts to the next level, making them more holistic and spiritually based,” commented Rosera Tateosian of St David’s in Austin, TX.

“Any question we have, any resource we need, the GreenFaith staff are quick to respond and they always have an encouraging word for us,” noted Marion Pound, a lay leader at Grace Church in Chattanooga, TN.

For more information about the partnership, contact Schut at mschut@episcopalchurch.org.

The Episcopal Church welcomes all who worship Jesus Christ in 109 dioceses and three regional areas in 16 nations. The Episcopal Church is a member province of the worldwide Anglican Communion.

Links
The Episcopal Church: www.episcopalchurch.org

Environmental resources from the Episcopal Church:
http://www.episcopalchurch.org/environment

Green Faith: www.greenfaith.org

Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/episcopalian
Twitter: http://twitter.com/iamepiscopalian
YouTube: http://www.youtube.com/TECtube

# # # #

For more info contact:
Neva Rae Fox
Public Affairs Officer
The Episcopal Church
publicaffairs@episcopalchurch.org
212-716-6080 Mobile: 917-478-5659