World Refugee Day

Thursday, June 13, 2019 - 09:30

“When we welcome the stranger, we welcome the Lord God himself. We welcome Jesus,” commented Episcopal Church Presiding Bishop and Primate Michael B. Curry in his 2019 World Refugee Day Message. “On World Refugee Day, pray, learn about refugees,...

Monday, June 18, 2018 - 14:00

"Our work with and for refugees began when we began to follow Jesus, to follow His way and His teachings. It is because we are followers of Jesus, because we follow the way of love, because we follow the way of compassion, because we follow the way...

Tuesday, May 22, 2018 - 12:57

Episcopal Migration Ministries and the Office of Government Relations is hosting a one-hour free webinar, Our 1939 Moment: Continuing the Legacy of Welcome, on Monday, June18 at 4 pm Eastern (3 pm Central/2 pm Mountain/1 pm Pacific/noon Alaska/11...

Thursday, June 15, 2017 - 10:11

“In the name of Mary, Joseph and the Lord Jesus, aid all refugees today, for most of the refugees like the Holy Family themselves, are families, and most are children,” commented Episcopal Church Presiding Bishop and Primate Michael B. Curry in his...

Thursday, June 16, 2016 - 09:24

“Indeed, we must find a way to end war, but we must find a way to end the suffering of human beings who are forced from their homes,” Episcopal Church Presiding Bishop and Primate Michael Curry notes in his 2016 World Refugee Day message. In 2000,...

Tuesday, June 14, 2016 - 13:56

There is still time to register for the free World Refugee Day webinar on June 20 at 7 pm Eastern. Sponsored by the Episcopal Migration Ministries and Episcopal Public Policy Network, the one-hour seminar will present and discuss the global refugee...

Tuesday, May 3, 2016 - 10:49

In 2000, the United Nations named June 20 as World Refugee Day, deeming it an annual opportunity to celebrate the resilience and success of the former refugees who bless our communities with their wisdom and irrepressible spirit and to examine the...

Monday, June 8, 2009 - 01:00

A June 19 live webcast sponsored by Episcopal Migration Ministries (EMM) and the Office of Communication will focus on World Refugee Day and will examine the plight of today"s refugees. "You Mean The World To Us: Our global embrace of refugees...