Polyhymnia: John Bradley, Conductor


The Church of St. Ignatius of Antioch
552 West End Avenue New York
United States
Saturday, May 05, 2018

Music from the Sistine Chapel


Palestrina – Missa Papae Marcelli

Allegri – Miserere

Motets by Allergri, Morales, and Palestrina


John Bradley, Conductor


Time:              8 pm

Pre-Concert Lecture at 7 pm with Dr. Raymond Erickson

Tickets:           $30 – General Admission

                        $20 – Students, Seniors & Early Music America (EMA) Members

For tickets and more information:


OR call 917-838-4636

OR http://polyhymnia-nyc.org/events


Polyhymnia, ensemble-in-residence at The Church of St. Ignatius of Antioch, will present a program of music from the Sistine Chapel. Giovanni Pierluigi da Palestrina (c. 1525-1594) remains one of the most celebrated composers not only of the Renaissance, but of all time. The Cappella Sistina, distinct from the room in which Michelangelo wrought his miraculous work, is the choir whose sole purpose during the 16th Century was to provide music for pontifical liturgies and ceremonial occasions for the papal court. Liturgical compositions such as Palestrina’s venerable Missa Papae Marcelli, eight-voice Stabat Mater, Gregorio Allegri’s Miserere, and ceremonial works like Cristobal de Morales’s Jubilate Deo omnes terra only scratch the surface of the vast repertoire contained in the Vatican’s extensive musical archives.  Also included on the program is the famous setting of the great penitential Psalm 51, Miserere, the greatest piece Allegri didn’t actually write. It will be performed in a new edition by Harry Christophers and Ben Byrum-Wigfield that explores the evolution of the work from its modest beginnings as faux bourdon psalm tone, to its highly ornamented and improvised late 18th-century form. Filling out the program are Palestrina’s Surge Illuminare, Allegri’s Christus resurgens, and Morales’ Lamentabatur Jacob.

About the Ensemble:

Founded in 1994, Polyhymnia creates vibrant, historically informed performances of music from the courts and cathedrals of the Renaissance world. Working with museums and libraries, liturgical historians and educational institutions, Polyhymnia preserves and revives masterworks of the choral literature composed in Europe and the Americas between the years 1450 and 1650. Since 2000, Artistic Director John Bradley has been preparing original editions of music for the ensemble in repertoire including numerous modern premiers of works which have remained unperformed since the 16th century.

Polyhymnia is supported, in part, by a grant from the New York State Council on the Arts with the support of Governor Andrew Cuomo and the New York State Legislature and by public funds from the New York City Department of Cultural Affairs in partnership with the City Council.


Share This: