Alabama, Diocese of

A diocese of the Episcopal Church which consists of all of Alabama except those counties in the Diocese of the Central Gulf Coast. The primary convention was at Christ Church, Mobile, on Jan. 25, 1830. From then until 1844, when its first bishop was consecrated, the diocese had four provisional bishops: Thomas Church Brownell, 1830-1835; James Hervey Otey, 1835-1836; Jackson Kemper, 1837-1838; and Leonidas Polk, 1838-1844. On Feb. 12, 1982, the Church of the Advent, Birmingham, became the Cathedral.

Share This: