Southwest Florida, Diocese of

The General Convention of 1969 voted to divide the Diocese of Florida into three dioceses. One of the new dioceses was known as the Gulf Coast Diocese of Florida. It included the following counties: Charlotte, Collier, DeSoto, Glades, Hernando, Hillsborough, Lee, Manatee, Pasco, Pinellas, Sarasota, and part of Hendry. The primary convention of this diocese was held at North Redington Beach, Oct. 16, 1969. At that convention the name was changed to the Diocese of Southwest Florida. On Nov. 18, 1969, St. Peter's Church, St. Petersburg, was set apart as St. Peter's Cathedral.

Share This: