Episcopal Church Dioceses and United Methodist Episcopal Areas

Prepared by Richard Mammana for the Episcopal Church Office of Ecumenical and Interreligious Relations, May 2017.

The Episcopal Church consists of nine provinces, subdivided into 119 dioceses in 16 countries. Ninety-nine of the dioceses are domestic. The United Methodist Church consists of five jurisdictions and 46 episcopal areas in the United States.

The geographical boundaries of these provinces, dioceses, jurisdictions, and episcopal areas do not overlap precisely. These chart provides information about approximate equivalents in 2017 for dioceses of the Episcopal Church and United Methodist jurisdictions and episcopal areas. Links from each diocese and jurisdiction point to individual websites and contact information. 

Episcopal Province Episcopal Diocese United Methodist Jurisdiction United Methodist Episcopal Area
1 Connecticut Northeastern Boston, New York
1 Maine Northeastern Boston
1 New Hampshire Northeastern Boston
1 Rhode Island Northeastern Boston
1 Vermont Northeastern Boston
1 Western Massachusetts Northeastern Boston
2 Albany Northeastern Upper New York
2 Central New York Northeastern Upper New York
2 Long Island Northeastern New York
2 New Jersey Northeastern New Jersey
2 New York Northeastern New York
2 Newark Northeastern New Jersey
2 Rochester Northeastern Upper New York
2 Western New York Northeastern Upper New York
3 Bethlehem Northeastern Philadelphia, Harrisburg
3 Delaware Northeastern Philadelphia
3 Central Pennsylvania Northeastern Harrisburg
3 Easton Northeastern Philadelphia
3 Maryland Northeastern Washington
3 Northwestern Pennsylvania Northeastern Pittsburgh
3 Pennsylvania Northeastern Philadelphia
3 Pittsburgh Northeastern Pittsburgh
3 Southwestern Virginia Southeastern Holston
3 Southern Virginia Southeastern Richmond
3 Virginia Southeastern Richmond
3 Washington Northeastern Washington
3 West Virginia Southeastern West Virginia
4 Alabama Southeastern Alabama-West Florida, Birmingham
4 Atlanta Southeastern North Georgia
4 Central Florida Southeastern Florida
4 Central Gulf Coast Southeastern Alabama-West Florida
4 East Carolina Southeastern Raleigh
4 East Tennessee Southeastern Holston
4 Florida Southeastern Florida
4 Georgia Southeastern South Georgia
4 Kentucky Southeastern Louisville
4 Lexington Southeastern Louisville
4 Louisiana South Central Louisiana
4 Mississippi Southeastern Mississippi
4 North Carolina Southeastern Raleigh
4 South Carolina Southeastern Columbia
4 Southeast Florida Southeastern Florida
4 Southwest Florida Southeastern Florida
4 Tennessee Southeastern Nashville
4 Upper South Carolina Southeastern Columbia
4 West Tennessee Southeastern Nashville
4 Western North Carolina Southeastern Charlotte
5 Chicago North Central Chicago
5 Eastern Michigan North Central Michigan
5 Eau Claire North Central Wisconsin
5 Fond du Lac North Central Wisconsin
5 Indianapolis North Central Indiana
5 Michigan North Central Michigan
5 Milwaukee North Central Wisconsin
5 Missouri South Central Missouri
5 Northern Indiana North Central Indiana
5 Northern Michigan North Central Michigan
5 Ohio North Central Ohio East, Ohio West
5 Southern Ohio North Central Ohio East, Ohio West
5 Springfield North Central Illinois
5 Western Michigan North Central Michigan
6 Colorado North Central Mountain Sky
6 Iowa North Central Iowa
6 Minnesota North Central Dakotas-Minnesota
6 Montana Western Mountain Sky
6 Nebraska South Central Great Plains
6 North Dakota North Central Dakotas-Minnesota
6 South Dakota North Central Dakotas-Minnesota
6 Wyoming Western Mountain Sky
7 Arkansas South Central Arkansas
7 Dallas South Central Dallas
7 Fort Worth South Central Fort Worth
7 Kansas South Central Great Plains
7 Northwest Texas South Central Northwest Texas-New Mexico
7 Oklahoma South Central Oklahoma
7 Rio Grande South Central Northwest Texas-New Mexico
7 Texas South Central Houston
7 West Missouri South Central Missouri
7 West Texas South Central Northwest Texas-New Mexico
7 Western Kansas South Central Great Plains
7 Western Louisiana South Central Louisiana
8 Alaska Western Greater Northwest
8 Arizona Western Phoenix
8 California Western San Francisco
8 Eastern Oregon Western Oregon-Idaho
8 El Camino Real Western San Francisco
8 Hawai'i Western Hawaii
8 Idaho Western California-Pacific
8 Los Angeles Western Los Angeles
8 Navajoland Western Mountain Sky, Phoenix
8 Nevada Western San Francisco, Phoenix
8 Northern California Western San Francisco
8 Olympia Western Greater Northwest
8 Oregon Western Oregon-Idaho
8 San Diego Western Los Angeles
8 San Joaquin Western Los Angeles
8 Utah Western Mountain Sky


Prepared by Richard Mammana and Kyle Tau, Ecumenical Staff Officer for the Council of Bishops, The United Methodist Church

UM Episcopal Area

UM Annual Conference Episcopal Diocese
Chicago Northern Illinois Chicago
Wisconsin Wisconson Eau Claire, Fond du Lac, Milwaukee
Indiana Indiana Indianapolis, Northern Indiana
Michigan Michigan Eastern Michigan, Michigan, Northern Michigan, Western Michigan
Ohio East Ohio East Ohio, Southern Ohio
Ohio West Ohio West Ohio, Southern Ohio
Illinois Illinois Great Rivers Springfield
Iowa Iowa Iowa
Dakotas-Minnesota Dakotas, Minnesota Minnesota, North Dakota, South Dakota
Boston New England Connecticut, Maine, New Hampshire, Rhode Island, Vermont, Western Massachusetts
Upper New York Upper New York Albany, Central New York, Rochester, Western New York
New York New York Long Island, New York
New Jersey GreaterNew Jersey Newark, New Jersey
Harrisburg Susqueanna Bethlehem, Central Pennsylvania
Philadelphia Eastern Pennsylvania, Peninsula-Delaware Bethlehem, Delaware, Easton, Pennsylvania
Pittsburgh Western Pennsylvania Northwestern Pennsylvania, Pittsburgh
Washington Baltimore-Washington Washington
West Virginia West Virginia West Virginia
Louisiana Louisiana Louisiana, Western Louisiana
Missouri Missouri Annual Conference Missouri, West Missouri
Arkansas Arkansas Arkansas
Oklahoma Oklahoma Oklahoma
Dallas North Texas Dallas
Fort Worth Central Texas Fort Worth
Northwest Texas-New Mexico Northwest Texas, New Mexico Northwest Texas, Rio Grande, West Texas
Great Plains Great Plains Kansas, Nebraska, Western Kansas
Houston Texas Texas
Holston Holston East Tennessee, Southwestern Virginia
Richmond Virginia Southern Virginia, Virginia
North Georgia North Georgia Atlanta
Florida Florida Central Florida, Florida, Southeast Florida, Southwest Florida
Alabama-West Florida Alabama-West Florida Alabama, Central Gulf Coast
South Georgia South Georgia Georgia
Louisville Kentucky, Red Bird Missionary Kentucky, Lexington
Mississippi Mississippi Mississippi
Raleigh North Carolina East Carolina, North Carolina
Columbia South Carolina South Carolina, Upper South Carolina
Birmingham North Alabama Alabama
Nashville Memphis, Tennessee Tennessee, West Tennessee
Charlotte Western North Carolina Western North Carolina
Phoenix Desert Southwest Arizona, Navajoland, Nevada
Los Angeles California-Pacific Los Angeles, Hawaii
San Francisco California-Nevada California, El Camino Real, Nevada, Northern California
Greater Northwest Alaska, Pacific Northwest, Oregon Idaho Alaska, Olympia, Spokane, Eastern Oregon, Idaho, Oregon
Mountain Sky Rocky Mountain, Yellowstone Colorado, Montana, Navajoland, Utah, Wyoming