House of Deputies

Each diocese (geographical area) of the Episcopal Church appoints up to four clergy and four lay leaders as deputies to attend the General Convention, which is the governing body of the church. Just as the governing body of the United States is comprised of the House of Representatives and the Senate, the General Convention is comprised of two houses: the House of Bishops and the House of Deputies. They meet and act separately, and both houses must concur to adopt legislation. The House of Deputies has over 900 members (including alternates), and at each General Convention, the House of Deputies elects a president to serve a three-year term. The House of Deputies meets once every three years, at General Convention.