Participate in the Presiding Bishop's online forum on Human Trafficking

Participate in the Presiding Bishop's online forum on Human Trafficking

February 19, 2013
By: 
Lifelong Formation

This information went out via press release last week but I wanted to reprint it here for emphasis. As you probably know, I believe this is the important type of work that church communities – especially adult education programs – can be involved in.

On Wednesday, March 6, Episcopal Church Presiding Bishop Katharine Jefferts Schori will host an hour-long exploration into the church’s work in Human Trafficking.

Human trafficking

Human Trafficking: A Churchwide Conversation will originate from the Chapel of Christ the Lord in the Church Center in New York City beginning at 2 pm Eastern, 1 pm Central, noon Mountain, 11 am Pacific, 10 am Alaska, 9 am Hawaii, 8 pm Europe, 3 am Thursday Taiwan.

Presiding Bishop Jefferts Schori will lead Human Trafficking: A Churchwide Conversation with an address that will focus on “What Is Human Trafficking and How Does It Link With Violence Against Women and Girls.”

Panelists
Among the panelists are: Alexander D. Baumgarten, Episcopal Church Director of Office of Government Relations and Sarah Dreier, Legislative Representative for International Policy and Advocacy, addressing advocacy aspects on the federal, state and local levels; the Rev. Brian McVey of the Diocese of Iowa on what ministries are operating around the Episcopal Church in response to human trafficking; the Rev. Terrie Robinson from the Anglican Communion on communion-wide actions and policies; Laura Russell, Esq. from the Diocese of Newark on the church’s policies and implementation based on General Convention resolutions; and Main, on the UN’s response to human trafficking and Episcopal Church involvement.

Participation and viewing
Human Trafficking: A Churchwide Conversation will be presented via WebEx.  Participation is limited; advance registration is mandatory. To register contact trafficking@episcopalchurch.org. The forum will be available on-demand following the event.

Either live or on-demand, Human Trafficking: A Churchwide Conversation is ideal for individual or group watching and discussion, or on-demand viewing for discussion groups, community gatherings, classes, and other get-togethers.

Resources
An encompassing list of resources on this topic is being compiled and will be available on The Episcopal Church website.

“We are appealing to the entire church to forward any resources of actions and activities that may be occurring,” Main stressed. “Links, files, photos, downloadable documents, and any other information about trafficking, Episcopal Church ministries, or other agencies involved in this work, along with basic materials on this topic for sharing are greatly appreciated.”

To submit resources, email trafficking@episcopalchurch.org.

For more information contact Main at trafficking@episcopalchurch.org