Episcopal Church Office of Communication to live webcast internationally-heralded Choir of St. Martin-in-the-Fields

Episcopal Church Office of Communication to live webcast internationally-heralded Choir of St. Martin-in-the-Fields

April 27, 2011

The Episcopal Church Office of Communication will live webcast a performance of London’s Choir of St. Martin-in-the-Fields from St. John’s Church, Lafayette Square, in Washington, DC (Diocese of Washington) on Thursday, May 5 at 7 pm Eastern (6 pm Central, 5 pm Mountain, 4 pm Pacific, 3 pm Alaska, 2 pm Hawaii).

Directed by Andrew Earis, the internationally-heralded Choir of St. Martin-in-the-Fields will perform well-known English choral musical traditions along with works by American and international composers. Organ interludes and accompaniments will be played by St. Martin-in-the-Fields Assistant Organist Martin Ford.


The live webcast will be available here: http://episcopalchurch.org/live/dc/ , on the home page of the Episcopal Church’s website, www.episcopalchurch.org, and on the Episcopal Church Facebook page http://www.facebook.com/episcopalian. The concert will also be available on-demand following the live performance.


About St. Martins in the Field


One of England’s best known choirs, featuring 20 professional singers, the Choir of St. Martin-in-the-Fields is frequently broadcasted on the BBC. Their home church is located in the center of London. The historic church, with ties to the English Royal family, is the local church to Buckingham Palace, No. 10 Downing Street, and Trafalgar Square


St. Martin-in-the-Fields boasts a long, strong tradition of music; Haydn, Mozart, and Mendelssohn have all played on the church’s organ. The Academy of St Martin-in-the-Fields was founded at the church and is now one of the world’s foremost chamber ensembles. http://www2.stmartin-in-the-fields.org/page/home/home.html


About St. John’s


Located across from the White House, St. John's, Lafayette Square is known as "The Church of the Presidents" and is registered as a national historic landmark. Since its first service in October 1816, every United States president has attended a service at St. John’s. The Rev. Dr. Luis León is rector. http://www.stjohns-dc.org/


The Episcopal Church welcomes all who worship Jesus Christ in 109 dioceses and three regional areas in 16 nations. The Episcopal Church is a member province of the worldwide Anglican Communion.



St Martin-in-the-Fields: http://www2.stmartin-in-the-fields.org/page/home/home.html


St. John’s Church, Lafayette Square: http://www.stjohns-dc.org/


Episcopal Diocese of Washington: http://www.edow.org/



The Episcopal Church: www.episcopalchurch.org


Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/episcopalian


Twitter: http://twitter.com/iamepiscopalian


YouTube: http://www.youtube.com/TECtube



Tagged in:

Share This: