Episcopal Church will host forum on today's critical issue: The Climate Change Crisis

Episcopal Church will host forum on today's critical issue: The Climate Change Crisis

January 8, 2015
By: 
The Public Affairs Office

On March 24, The Episcopal Church will host and produce a groundbreaking forum on one of the most critical issues facing today’s world: The Climate Change Crisis.

The 90-minute live webcast will originate from Campbell Hall Episcopal School, North Hollywood, CA. In partnership with Bishop J. Jon Bruno and the Diocese of Los Angeles, The Climate Change Crisis will begin 11 am Pacific/noon Mountain/1 pm Central/2 pm Eastern/10 am Alaska/9 am Hawaii.

In addition to stimulating conversation and raising awareness about The Climate Change Crisis, the live webcast will serve as the kickoff to 30 Days of Action. A range of activities will be offered for individuals and congregations to understand the environmental crisis.  The activities will culminate on Earth Day, April 22. 

Presiding Bishop Katharine Jefferts Schori will deliver the keynote address.  The forum will be moderated by well-known climatologist Fritz Coleman of KNBC 4 television news.  

Two panels will focus on specific areas of the climate change crisis; Regional Impacts of Climate Change; and Reclaiming Climate Change as a Moral Issue.  The panels, each 30 minutes, will feature representatives of faith groups, government officials, environmental policy leaders and NGOs.

The live webcast will be available on demand following the live webcast. There is no fee. Registration is not required

The forum is ideal for live group watching and discussion, or on-demand viewing later.  It will be appropriate for Sunday School, Adult education, discussions groups, and community gatherings.

The event supports Mark 5 of the Anglican Marks of Mission: To strive to safeguard the integrity of creation and sustain and renew the life of the earth

The event is one of the aspects of The Episcopal Church's 150th year of parish ministry in Southern California.

Resources

Resources such as bibliography, on-demand video, materials for community and individual review, discussion questions, and lesson plans will be available.

For more information contact Neva Rae Fox, Public Affairs Officer, [email protected].

Anglican Five Marks of Mission: http://www.episcopalchurch.org/page/five-marks-mission

Diocese of Los Angeles www.ladiocese.org

Episcopal Church www.episcopalchurch.org

Campbell Hall

Fritz Coleman

Tagged in: Climate Change

Share This: