Live Episcopal Church webcast discusses refugee resettlement on September 14

Live Episcopal Church webcast discusses refugee resettlement on September 14

One United People: A Dialogue on Refugee Resettlement and Faithful Welcome
September 1, 2016

Episcopal Migration Ministries will host a live webcast discussion, One United People: A Dialogue on Refugee Resettlement and Faithful Welcome, on Wednesday, September 14.  A panel of refugee resettlement practitioners, congregational leaders, and recently arrived refugees will discuss ways in which Episcopalians and faith communities around the United States welcome refugees.

Originating from the Episcopal Church Center in New York City, the 90-minute free webcast begins at 2 pm Eastern/1 pm Central/Noon Mountain/11 am Pacific time.  Access to the webcast is available here. Questions can be emailed during the discussion to TECQ&[email protected]. The webcast will be available for viewing afterward here.

Refugee resettlement is a lifesaving option for millions of refugees who have had to flee their homes due to violence and persecution. The Episcopal Migration Ministries webcast discussion will demonstrate the Episcopal Church’s engagement in refugee resettlement in this country, and how resettlement nourishes individuals, congregations, and communities.

Tweet during the webcast with @EMMRefugees and @TheEPPN using #FaithfulWelcome

For more information contact Allison Duvall, Episcopal Migration Ministries Manager for Church Relations and Engagement.  

United Nations Summit

One United People: A Dialogue on Refugee Resettlement and Faithful Welcome is being held in advance of the September 19 United Nations General Assembly Summit to Address Large Movements of Refugees and Migrants. As the world faces the largest refugee crisis since World War II, the international community is gathering at the UN General Assembly summit to adopt a political declaration to develop safe and orderly responses to large movements of refugees and migrants that uphold the dignity of every person. Resettlement is identified in the declaration as one aspect of a successful response to these movements.

Episcopal Church staff attending the summit on behalf of Presiding Bishop and Primate Michael Curry include: Demetrio Alvero, Deputy Director of Episcopal Migration Ministries; Lacy Broemel, Episcopal Church Refugee and Immigration Policy Analyst; Allison Duvall, Episcopal Migration Ministries Manager for Church Relations and Engagement; and Lynnaia Main, Episcopal Church Global Relations Officer.

The UN Summit for Refugees and Migrants will be live webcast. For more information, visit the Summit website here

 

 

 

Share This: