Prayers for Peace in Sudan slated for Fridays in Advent

Prayers for Peace in Sudan slated for Fridays in Advent

December 1, 2010

Throughout the season of Advent and leading up to the Sudan Referendum in January 2011, Prayers for Peace in Sudan are invited at noon Eastern each Friday (11 am Central, 10 am Mountain, 9 am Pacific).

To launch the Friday Prayers for Peace in Sudan, the first on December 3 will be an interfaith prayer vigil at the United Nations Chapel, First Ave. and 44th St. in New York City.

A Sudanese-wide referendum is slated for January 9, 2011 which, if successful, will establish a separate Southern Sudan with full rights to self determination.

"Working with Presbyterian, Methodist, Lutheran, Catholic, Jewish, Muslim and Episcopal brothers and sisters, we invite all to pray with us every Friday, until the day of the referendum," noted the Rev. Canon Petero Sabune, Episcopal Church Africa Officer.

Prayers for Peace in Sudan will return to the UN chapel on January 7, kicking off a Weekend of Prayer and Fasting for Sudan (Friday to Sunday, January 7 – 9). Says Sabune, "We shall join in prayer and fasting in solidarity with our brothers and sisters in Sudan."

He added, "We invite all people to join this holy season of waiting for the birth of the Prince of Peace. Join in the struggle for peace in Sudan. We can make a difference. We can pray, study and act in solidarity with our sisters and brothers in Sudan. War is not inevitable; peace is possible."

Information

A Season of Prayer for Sudan, with comprehensive information to better understand the situation and to engage in the process is available here: http://www.episcopalchurch.org/sudan

The Episcopal Church has maintained strong ties to Sudan for many years. For example, there are four missionaries from The Episcopal Church currently posted in Sudan.

About Sudan

Sudan is Africa"s largest country in area and is the tenth-largest country in the world, touching nine other countries.

In the recent past, the north and south were governed separately. Civil wars lasting about 40 years came to an end in 2005 with the Comprehensive Peace Agreement (CPA), which gave the south political autonomy for six years, to be followed in 2011 by a referendum on secession. That referendum is slated for January 9, 2011.

The Episcopal Church of the Sudan is based in the southern city of Juba and claims 4 million members.

 

Episcopal Church in Sudan: http://www.sudan.anglican.org/

 

The Episcopal Church: www.episcopalchurch.org

Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/episcopalian

Twitter: http://twitter.com/iamepiscopalian

YouTube: http://www.youtube.com/TECtube

 

 

Tagged in:

Share This: