Presiding Bishop Curry video: invitation to the Good Book Club

Presiding Bishop Curry video: invitation to the Good Book Club

Gospel of Luke and the Acts of the Apostles
August 16, 2017

Episcopal Church Presiding Bishop Michael Curry has offered an invitation to Episcopalians and all Christians to join the more than 25 partners presenting the Good Book Club, an opportunity for reflection and prayer.

The Good Book Club is a churchwide program that invites the reading of the Gospel of Luke and the Acts of the Apostles during the liturgical seasons of Lent and Easter 2018.  Led by Forward Movement, www.forwardmovement.org the Good Book Club readings begin the Sunday prior to Ash Wednesday (February 11, 2018), and finish on Pentecost (May 20, 2018).

The Good Book Club, the Presiding Bishop said, provides an opportunity to “read, mark, learn and inwardly digest the Holy Scriptures.”  He noted that “The Gospel of Luke tells the story of Jesus” while “the Acts of the Apostles tells the story of those who followed in the footsteps of Jesus.”

He concludes, “I hope you'll join me.”

The video is available here in English and with Spanish subtitles here

Dioceses, congregations and organizations are encouraged to post and share the video and resource links.

Resources

Resources for the Good Book Club are available here www.goodbookclub.org including daily readings.

Spanish resources and information are available here.  http://clubbiblico.org

Stay up-to-date by following The Good Book Club on Facebook here. www.facebook.com/thegoodbookclub

Resources are also available on the websites of most of the partners.

Forward Day by Day, Forward Movement’s flagship devotional, will use Good Book Club readings during Lent-Easter 2018.  This provides for hundreds of thousands of people worldwide to join the Good Book Club.

Partners

Partners in the Good Book Club are:

The Episcopal Church
Forward Movement
Acts 8 Movement: http://www.acts8movement.org
Bible Study Media: https://biblestudymedia.com
Building Faith at the Center for the Ministry of Teaching: http://www.buildfaith.org
Center for Biblical Studies: http://thecenterforbiblicalstudies.org
Consortium of Endowed Episcopal Parishes: http://www.endowedparishes.org
ChurchNext: https://www.churchnext.tv
Episcopal Diocese of Washington: https://www.edow.org
Episcopal Camps and Conference Centers: http://www.episcopalccc.org
Episcopal Church Office of Latino/Hispanic Ministries: https://www.episcopalchurch.org/latinohispanic-ministries
Episcopal Church Women (ECW): https://www.ecwnational.org
Episcopal Church Foundation: http://www.episcopalfoundation.org
Episcopal Communicators: http://www.episcopalcommunicators.org
Episcopal Migrations Ministries: https://episcopalmigrationministries.org
Forma: http://www.forma.church
Gathering of Leaders: https://www.thegatheringofleaders.org
Grow Christians: http://www.growchristians.org
Invite*Welcome*Connect: http://www.invitewelcomeconnect.com
Missional Voices: http://www.missionalvoices.com
PlainSong Farm: http://plainsongfarm.com
RenewalWorks: http://renewalworks.org
The Living Church: http://livingchurch.org
United Thank Offering: https://www.episcopalchurch.org/united-thank-offering

For more information, contact Jason Merritt at [email protected].

Share This: