Watch, listen, email your questions - Civil Discourse in America: Finding Common Ground for the Greater Good

Watch, listen, email your questions - Civil Discourse in America: Finding Common Ground for the Greater Good

October 22, 2014
By: 
The Public Affairs Office

Watch, listen, email your questions
Civil Discourse in America: Finding Common Ground for the Greater Good

[October 22, 2014] Watch the live webcast, listen to the information and email your questions as political, interfaith and education leaders discuss a topic of great importance to our society: Civil Discourse in America: Finding Common Ground for the Greater Good.   Produced by The Episcopal Church, the 90-minute live webcast on October 22 begins at 2 pm Eastern (1 pm Central, noon Mountain, 11 am Pacific, 10 am Alaska, 9 am Hawaii). There is no fee to watch the live webcast.  It is available here www.episcopalchurch.org

Email questions to [email protected]. Follow on Twitter at #EpiscopalForum

Forum Participants

The forum will be moderated by Paul Brandeis Raushenbush, Executive Religion Editor for the Huffington Post. Episcopal Church Presiding Bishop Katharine Jefferts Schori will present the keynote address.

Two panel discussions will focus on main themes: Civil discourse and faith; and Civil discourse in politics and policy. Panelists include:

David Boardman, Dean of the School of Media and Communication at Temple University in Philadelphia http://smc.temple.edu/.

Dr. John J. DeGioia, President of Georgetown University, Washington DC http://www.georgetown.edu/president/.  

Rabbi Steve Gutow, President and CEO of the Jewish Council on Public Affairs http://engage.jewishpublicaffairs.org/p/salsa/web/common/public/content?content_item_KEY=2205 Washington DC

Hugh Forrest, Director of the South by Southwest Interactive FestivalDr. Carolyn J. Lukensmeyer, Executive Director of the National Institute on Civil Discourse http://nicd.arizona.edu/

Dr. Elizabeth McCloskey, President and CEO of The Faith & Politics Institute

Bishop Prince Singh of the Episcopal Diocese of Rochester, NY http://www.episcopalrochester.org/

The forum will be available on-demand following the live webcast.

A panel of journalists will discuss Civil Discourse in a 30minute panel that will be videotaped and posted after the event. David Crabtree WRAL; Kevin Eckstrom Religion News Service; Chris Satullo WHYY; Mary Frances Schjonberg Episcopal News Service; Neva Rae Fox is the moderator.

The discussion originates from historic Christ Church, Philadelphia (Diocese of Pennsylvania).

The Facilitator’s Guide to assist in group discussions and better understanding is available for downloading here http://www.episcopalchurch.org/sites/default/files/civil_discourse_facilitators_guide.pdf

Information is located here http://www.episcopalchurch.org/page/civil-discourse-event

For more information contact Neva Rae Fox, Public Affairs Officer, [email protected].

Tagged in:

Share This: