Faith Formation

Lifelong Formation

Older Americans Month video series: Prison Ministry

November 6, 2014

In this video, the Rev. Canon Petero Sabune, Former Chaplain, Sing Sing Prison reflects on the challenges of aging in the prison system as well as ministry to, by and with prisoners. Are you engaged in ministry with prisoners? Tell your story in the comments below.

Older Americans Month Video Series: Faith Formation and the Theology of Aging

November 6, 2014

The second video in our Older Americans Month video series focuses on the Theology of Aging, asking the questions: When God created humans God proclaimed that we were “very good”. If God created us as beings who age, then isn’t aging good? What is The Episcopal Church called to in regards to developing a theology […]

Curriculum Overview

November 6, 2014

Just a quick post to let you know the Children’s Curriculum Overview is now available from Church Publishing. Also from Church Publishing, you can find: VBS Overview How to Choose Curriculum Christian Education Planning Calendar Curriculum and the Ministry of Christian Education  Finally, Church Publishing is offering a new book titled, Faithful Generations: Effective Ministry […]

Helping Our Children Become Media Savvy

November 6, 2014

There’s no doubt that all media – including movies – have the ability to impact young minds. Through film, every director and screenwriter has particular themes and messages they are trying to convey. As adults, we can help our children learn to discern the viewpoint of each film and reflect on their opinion about the […]

Older Americans Month Video Series: Advocating for Aging Communities in Church and Society

November 6, 2014

What is the reality of HIV and aging? How are assisted living facilities chugging? What does ministry to, with and by the aging look like? Consider these questions as you watch this provocative video, the latest in our series for Older Americans Month.

Older Americans Month Video Series: Advocating for Aging Communities in Church and Society, Part II

November 6, 2014

This is part II of the video I posted on Tuesday. In particular, this video asks the questions: What are challenges to aging at home? What is the unique call of the diaconate to aging communities? How do we support caregivers?  Post your thoughts and reflections in the comments below.

Older Americans Month video series: Advocating for Aging Communities in Government

November 6, 2014

The latest in our month-long video series recognizing Older Americans Month asks the question: How can I make a difference and advocate for aging in governmental structures at the local, state and national level and in what ways is the Episcopal Church uniquely structured to be a leader in this mission?

Upcoming Webinar focuses on Dementia and Spirituality

November 6, 2014

I just heard about this training opportunity and thought to pass it along. The Parish Resource Center of Long Island is sponsoring a 1-hour webinar on Dementia, Spirituality and the Faith Community on Tuesday, May 14 at 7 pm (Eastern). Join the webinar to hear how congregations can extend hospitality and practice inclusion with cherished members […]

November 15 Racism Forum to Feature Formation Materials

November 6, 2014

I want to encourage you to “Save the Date” for the upcoming ecumenical web forum, Fifty Years Later: The State of Racism in America, announced yesterday on Episcopal News Service. The Forum will be held Friday, November 15 at 1 pm Central  (2 pm Eastern, noon Mountain, 11 am Pacific, 10 am Alaska, 9 am Hawaii). The […]

The Perception of Aging, Part 1

November 6, 2014

This first video in a two-part series asks the question: Aging is changing but are your perceptions of aging changing, as well? Let me know what you think in the comments below.

131 records

Contact:
David Stickley

Formation Associate