Development HBCU

Historically Black Colleges and Universities

As we approach February, the remembrance of the Blessed Absalom Jones, the first African-American priest in the Episcopal Church, we have a unique opportunity to celebrate his memory and to honor the witness of two schools that continue to form new leaders,” Presiding Bishop Curry said. “In honor of Jones’ commitment to advancing the education of African Americans and promoting the development of African American leaders in all areas of life, the Episcopal Church is delighted to designate Saint Augustine’s University and Voorhees College as the beneficiaries of the 2018 Feast of Absalom Jones offerings.

Saint Augustine’s University (SAU) was founded in 1867 by the Episcopal Diocese of North Carolina. Located in Raleigh, over 1,000 students pursue Bachelor of Arts and Bachelor of Science degrees at SAU, while adult learners engage in advanced studies in Criminal Justice, Organizational Management, and Religious Studies. The mission of the university is to sustain a learning community in which students can prepare academically, socially, and spiritually for leadership in complex, diverse, and rapidly changing world.

Voorhees College is a private historically black four-year liberal arts college located in Denmark, SC. Voorhees was founded as the Denmark Industrial School by Elizabeth Evelyn Wright, a young black woman, in 1897. A former student of Booker T. Washington, Miss Wright dreamed the seemingly impossible dream of starting a school for African American youth in rural Bamberg County, SC.

The press release is available here. Bulletin inserts are available here.

To learn more about funding needs and how you can help, contact Cecilia J. Malm in the Office of Development
at (212) 716-6062 or [email protected].

To donate by mail, please send your contribution to:

The Domestic and Foreign Missionary Society
c/o Office of Development
815 2nd Ave
New York, NY 10017

Donations can be made out to “The Domestic and Foreign Missionary Society” with Absalom Jones noted in the memo section.

Contact The Office of Development

First Name
Last Name
City / Town
ZIP / Postal Code
This question is for testing whether or not you are a human visitor and to prevent automated spam submissions.

For information about the Office of Development or Ways to Give, Contact:
Tara Elgin Holley, Director of Development at 212-716-6041 or [email protected]