An Episcopal Dictionary of the Church

California, Diocese of

The primary convention of the Diocese of California met at Trinity Church, San Francisco, June 24, 1850. The General Convention of 1853 elected William Ingraham Kip Missionary Bishop of California, and the diocese elected him Bishop on Feb. 5, 1857. Grace Cathedral, San Francisco, was established on Feb. 4, 1910, and consecrated on Nov. 20, 1964. The diocese was divided in 1874, 1879, 1895, and 1910. Today it consists of the following counties: Alameda, Contra Corta, Marine, San Francisco, and San Mateo.

Glossary definitions provided courtesy of Church Publishing Incorporated, New York, NY,(All Rights reserved) from “An Episcopal Dictionary of the Church, A User Friendly Reference for Episcopalians,” Don S. Armentrout and Robert Boak Slocum, editors.