An Episcopal Dictionary of the Church


(c. 1170-Aug. 6, 1221). Dominic de Guzman was born in Calaruega, Castile, Spain. He studied at the University of Palencia, in the Kingdom of Leon. In 1216 Pope Honorius III granted Dominic the right to establish a new religious order. This new order was to preach the gospel, convert heretics, defend the faith, and propagate Christianity. It was named the Order of Friars Preachers (OP). Members of the order are sometimes called Dominicans, in honor of their founder. In England the members of the order are sometimes called Black Friars because of the black mantle or cappa which they wore over their white habits and scapulars. The first Dominican monastery was established at Toulouse. The order followed the rule of St. Augustine, and was known for a while as the “regular canons of St. Augustine.” The Dominicans were dedicated to refuting heresy by intellectual argument and the example of a holy life. They frequently founded their houses in university cities. The greatest Dominican teacher is St. Thomas Aquinas. Dominic was canonized by Pope Gregory IX on July 13, 1234. Dominic died in Bologna. He is commemorated in the Episcopal calendar of the church year on Aug. 8. See Aquinas, Thomas.

Glossary definitions provided courtesy of Church Publishing Incorporated, New York, NY,(All Rights reserved) from “An Episcopal Dictionary of the Church, A User Friendly Reference for Episcopalians,” Don S. Armentrout and Robert Boak Slocum, editors.