An Episcopal Dictionary of the Church

Executive Council of the Episcopal Church

The national body that administers the program and policies adopted by the General Convention. It was called the National Council from 1919-1964. It is currently composed of twenty members elected by General Convention, eighteen members elected by the Provincial Synods, and the following ex officio members: the presiding bishop, the president of the House of Deputies, and the vice president, secretary, and treasurer of the Executive Council. Members are elected to six-year terms with half the membership elected each triennium. The body must have specified numbers of bishops, presbyters, and lay persons. The council meets at least three times each year.

Glossary definitions provided courtesy of Church Publishing Incorporated, New York, NY,(All Rights reserved) from “An Episcopal Dictionary of the Church, A User Friendly Reference for Episcopalians,” Don S. Armentrout and Robert Boak Slocum, editors.