An Episcopal Dictionary of the Church

Fort Worth, Diocese of

The General Convention of 1982 voted to divide the Diocese of Dallas and establish a new diocese. At that time it was named the Western Diocese. The primary convention met at All Saints' Church, Fort Worth, on Nov. 13, 1982, and changed the name to the Diocese of Fort Worth. On Sept. 1, 1986, All Saints' Church, Fort Worth, became All Saints' Cathedral. However, on Oct. 3, 1991, it reverted to All Saints' Church. On Jan. 9, 1995, Bishop Jack Iker designated St. Vincent's Church, Bedford, the pro-cathedral of the diocese. The Diocese of Fort Worth consists of the following counties: Archer, Bosque, Brown, Clay, Comanche, Cooke, Eastland, Erath, Hamilton, Hill, Hood, Jack, Johnson, Mills, Montague, Palo Pinto, Parker, Somervell, Stephens, Tarrant, Wichita, Wise, Young, and the portion of the city of Grand Prairie located in Dallas County.

Glossary definitions provided courtesy of Church Publishing Incorporated, New York, NY,(All Rights reserved) from “An Episcopal Dictionary of the Church, A User Friendly Reference for Episcopalians,” Don S. Armentrout and Robert Boak Slocum, editors.