An Episcopal Dictionary of the Church

Philippine Independent Church

At the end of the Spanish-American War in 1901, a number of Roman Catholic clergy in the Philippines wanted to be independent of the Roman Catholic bishops of Spain. On Aug. 3, 1902, they established an independent Catholic Church and elected Gregorio Aglipay their first Supreme Bishop. On Apr. 7, 1948, three bishops of the Episcopal Church consecrated three priests as bishops of the Philippine Independent Church. The General Convention of 1961 approved full intercommunion with the Philippine Independent Church.

Glossary definitions provided courtesy of Church Publishing Incorporated, New York, NY,(All Rights reserved) from “An Episcopal Dictionary of the Church, A User Friendly Reference for Episcopalians,” Don S. Armentrout and Robert Boak Slocum, editors.