An Episcopal Dictionary of the Church

Provincial Synod

The Episcopal Church is divided into nine provinces. Each province has a synod consisting of a House of Bishops and a House of Deputies. These houses sit and deliberate either separately or together. The synod meets on a regular basis as determined by each province. Every bishop having jurisdiction within the province, every bishop coadjutor, suffragan bishop, and assistant bishop, and every bishop whose episcopal work has been within the province, but who by reason of advanced age or bodily infirmity has resigned, has a seat and vote in the House of Bishops of the province. Each diocese and area mission within the province is entitled to representation in the provincial House of Deputies. Each province determines the number of deputies, and each diocese and area mission determines the manner in which its deputies shall be chosen. The president of the province may be one of the bishops, presbyters, deacons, or lay persons of the province. The provincial synod elects the president.

Glossary definitions provided courtesy of Church Publishing Incorporated, New York, NY,(All Rights reserved) from “An Episcopal Dictionary of the Church, A User Friendly Reference for Episcopalians,” Don S. Armentrout and Robert Boak Slocum, editors.