An Episcopal Dictionary of the Church

Trinity Episcopal School for Ministry

In the early 1970s a group of Episcopal lay people and clergy sensed the need for a new seminary to emphasize biblical faith and train lay persons and clergy for parish ministry in light of faith. The Fellowship of Witness led the effort. On Apr. 15, 1975, Trinity Episcopal School for Ministry was incorporated. The Rt. Rev. Alfred Stanway of Melbourne, Australia, became the first dean and president of the school on Sept. 1, 1975. The school opened on Sept. 25, 1976, on the campus of Robert Morris College in Coraopolis, Pennsylvania. In Aug. 1978 the school moved to its present location in Ambridge, Pennsylvania. Trinity stresses the biblical foundations of Christian faith, practical evangelism, training in the devotional life, and the training of the laity for ministry in the church and world. The school adheres to the “Statement of Faith” of the Fellowship of Witness. It is accredited by the Association of Theological Schools. See Evangelical Fellowship in the Anglican Communion-USA (EFAC-USA); see Fellowship of Witness (FOW).

Update: As of January 1, 2022, Trinity School for Ministry ceased to be affiliated with The Episcopal Church.

Glossary definitions provided courtesy of Church Publishing Incorporated, New York, NY,(All Rights reserved) from “An Episcopal Dictionary of the Church, A User Friendly Reference for Episcopalians,” Don S. Armentrout and Robert Boak Slocum, editors.