An Episcopal Dictionary of the Church

Virginia, Diocese of

Organized in Richmond on May 18, 1785. The 1892 General Convention divided the diocese and today it includes the following counties: Albemarle, Arlington, Caroline, Charles City, Clark, Culpeper, Essex, Fairfax, Fauquier, Fluvanna, Frederick, Gloucester, Goochland, Greene, Hanover, Henrico, King and Queen, King George, King William, Lancaster, Loudoun, Louisa, Madison, Mathews, Middlesex, New Kent, Northumberland, Orange, Page, Prince William, Rappahannock, Richmond, Rockingham, Shenandoah, Spotsylvania, Stafford, Warren, Westmoreland, and that part of the city of Richmond north of the James River. While not officially a cathedral, the Cathedral Shrine of the Transfiguration at Shrine Mont, the diocesan conference center, was consecrated on Aug. 6, 1925.

Glossary definitions provided courtesy of Church Publishing Incorporated, New York, NY,(All Rights reserved) from “An Episcopal Dictionary of the Church, A User Friendly Reference for Episcopalians,” Don S. Armentrout and Robert Boak Slocum, editors.