The Office of Public Affairs

The Public Affairs Office provides statistics, biographies, photos, background information, and other resources to media representatives reporting on the mission and ministries of The Episcopal Church

Advancing to General Convention: Presiding Bishop Transition and Installation Committee releases information

June 18, 2015
Office of Public Affairs

The Presiding Bishop Transition and Installation Committee has released information concerning the activities of The Episcopal Church Presiding Bishop-Elect following the election of the 27th Presiding Bishop on June 27 at General Convention 2015.

Members of the Committee were appointed by the presiding officers of General Convention, after the committee was created by Executive Council in 2014.

The committee’s purpose is to support the Presiding Bishop-Elect and an orderly process during and through the transition and installation of the next Presiding Bishop: providing assistance, information, briefings and other opportunities for strengthening leadership at the beginning of his ministry.

The Rev. Canon Dr. Michael Barlowe, Executive Officer of the General Convention and chair of the Presiding Bishop Transition and Installation Committee, pointed out the committee has been meeting and planning for more than one year, drawing from the best practices and wisdom that have emerged from episcopal transitions in recent years. The committee has also learned from the experiences – positive and negative – of previous Presiding Bishop transitions. Members also bring their own experiences of leadership in the church, and a deep commitment to the vision of collaborative leadership that was expressed in the profile that guided the Joint Nominating Committee for the Election of the Presiding Bishop (JNCPB) in selecting the nominees for Presiding Bishop.

Barlowe noted that on Friday, July 3, the final day of General Convention 2015, Presiding Bishop Katharine Jefferts Schori will preside and the Presiding Bishop-Elect will preach at the closing Eucharist beginning at 8:30 am Mountain.

The Presiding Bishop-Elect will assume his new post on November 1.  There will be a liturgical marking of this new ministry at the principal service at Washington National Cathedral in Washington DC for the Feast of All Saints, when the Presiding Bishop will be formally seated in his cathedra, the seat designated for the Presiding Bishop. Barlowe said further details about this service will be forthcoming, after General Convention.

The members of the Presiding Bishop Transition and Installation Committee are:

The Rev. Canon Dr. Michael Barlowe, Executive Officer of the General Convention, Chair

The Rt. Rev. Richard S.O. Chang, Diocese of Hawaii, Province VIII

The Rev. Robert Anton Franken, Diocese of Colorado, Province VI

Sally Johnson, Diocese of Minnesota, Province VI

The Rt. Rev. Edward Konieczny, Diocese of Oklahoma, Province VII

Nancy Koonce, Diocese of Idaho, Province VIII

Karen Longenecker, Diocese of Rio Grande, Province VII

The Rt. Rev. F. Clayton Matthews, Diocese of Virginia, Province III

The Rev. Canon Dr. Charles K. Robertson, Diocese of Arizona, Province VIII

The Hon. Byron Rushing, Diocese of Massachusetts, Province I

Lynn Schmissrauter, Diocese of East Tennessee, Province IV

The Most Rev. Katharine Jefferts Schori, Presiding Bishop and Primate, Ex Officio

The Rev. Gay Clark Jennings, President of the House of Deputies, Ex Officio

The 78th General Convention of The Episcopal Church will be held June 25 – July 3, in Salt Lake City, UT (Diocese of Utah). The Episcopal Church’s General Convention is held every three years, and is the bicameral governing body of the Church. It comprises the House of Bishops, with upwards of 200 active and retired bishops, and the House of Deputies, with clergy and lay deputies elected from the 108 dioceses and three regional areas of the Church, at more than 800 members.

For more information contact Barlowe at



The Episcopal Church:

General Convention:

Diocese of Utah:

Salt Palace Convention Center: