The Office of Public Affairs

The Public Affairs Office provides statistics, biographies, photos, background information, and other resources to media representatives reporting on the mission and ministries of The Episcopal Church

Media Advisory: Episcopal Church Executive Council to meet Jan. 26-29

January 12, 2024
Office of Public Affairs

The Executive Council of The Episcopal Church will convene Jan. 26-29 in Louisville, Kentucky. The meeting will be at the site of the upcoming 81st General Convention and will include Sunday worship at Christ Church Cathedral.

During the meeting, the Joint Budget Committee will present the 2025-2027 churchwide budget, and council members will continue racial reconciliation work.

Media representatives wishing to attend must preregister to secure credentials. Please contact Lisa Webb, associate officer for public affairs, at, by Friday, Jan. 19.

Any media attending are responsible for their own housing, meals, and transportation costs; please note hotel rooms and onsite meal options may be available, depending on the time of the request. Interested media should let Webb know as soon as possible.

All are welcome to watch the plenary sessions live on YouTube.

Executive Council 

The Executive Council of the General Convention, an elected body representing the whole church, carries out the programs and policies adopted by General Convention. Its job is to oversee the ministry and mission of The Episcopal Church. This includes oversight responsibility for the work done by the Domestic and Foreign Missionary Society as well as the disposition of funds and other property in accordance with the canons of The Episcopal Church and the resolutions, orders, and budgets adopted or approved by the General Convention. Also included is oversight responsibility for the work of the Office of General Convention.

The Executive Council is composed of 20 members elected by General Convention (four bishops, four priests or deacons, and 12 laypersons) and 18 members (one clergy, one lay) elected by province. The presiding bishop and the president of the House of Deputies are the chair and vice chair. The other officers of the Executive Council are ex-officio with seat and voice but no vote.

Roster of members here.

Aviso a los medios de comunicación: El Consejo Ejecutivo de la Iglesia Episcopal se reunirá del 26 al 29 de enero

El Consejo Ejecutivo  de la Iglesia Episcopal se reunirá del 26 al 29 de enero en Louisville, Kentucky. La reunión se efectuará en el lugar de la próxima 81ª. Convención General  e incluirá el culto dominical en la Iglesia Catedral de Cristo [Christ Church Cathedral].

Durante la reunión, el Comité Conjunto de Presupuesto  presentará el presupuesto de toda la Iglesia para 2025-2027 y los miembros del Consejo proseguirán con su labor de reconciliación racial.

Los representantes de los medios de prensa que deseen asistir deben inscribirse previamente para obtener sus credenciales. Diríjase a Lisa Webb, funcionaria asociada de asuntos públicos en, a más tardar el viernes, 19 de enero.

Todos son bienvenidos a ver las sesiones plenarias en vivo en YouTube.

Consejo Ejecutivo 

El Consejo Ejecutivo de la Convención General, órgano electo que representa a toda la Iglesia, lleva a cabo los programas y políticas adoptados por la Convención General. Su labor consiste en supervisar el ministerio y la misión de la Iglesia Episcopal. Esto incluye la responsabilidad de supervisar el trabajo que realiza la Sociedad Misionera Doméstica y Extranjera, así como la disposición de fondos y otros bienes de conformidad con los cánones de la Iglesia Episcopal y las resoluciones, órdenes y presupuestos adoptados o aprobados por la Convención General. También incluye la responsabilidad de supervisar el trabajo de la Oficina de la Convención General.

El Consejo Ejecutivo está compuesto por 20 miembros elegidos por la Convención General (cuatro obispos, cuatro sacerdotes o diáconos y 12 laicos) y 18 miembros (un clérigo y un laico) elegidos por provincia. El obispo presidente y el presidente de la Cámara de Diputados son el presidente y el vicepresidente. Los demás miembros del Consejo Ejecutivo son miembros de oficio con escaño y voz, pero sin voto.

Vea aquí la lista de miembros.