The Office of Public Affairs

The Public Affairs Office provides statistics, biographies, photos, background information, and other resources to media representatives reporting on the mission and ministries of The Episcopal Church

Pryor elected to Executive Council

January 9, 2015
Office of Public Affairs

Carole Pryor of the Diocese of West Missouri has been elected the Province VII lay representative on the Episcopal Church Executive Council.

The announcement was made by the Rev. Canon Michael Barlowe, Executive Officer of General Convention, during the opening session of the Executive Council meeting on January 9 at the Conference Center at the Maritime Institute in Linthicum Heights, MD (Diocese of Maryland).

The vacancy on Executive Council was created by the resignation of Vycke McEwen.

Pryor was elected by the board of Province VII. Pryor’s term begins immediately and continues until a Province VII board member is elected in 2015.

Pryor is an elected lay deputy to General Convention 2015 for the diocese.  

Executive Council

According to the website: “The Executive Council of the Episcopal Church is an elected body representing the whole Church…The Executive Council has the duty to carry out programs and policies adopted by General Convention. It is the job of Executive Council to oversee the ministry and mission of the Church. The Executive Council is comprised of twenty members elected by General Convention (four bishops, four priests or deacons and twelve laypersons) and eighteen members (one clergy, one lay) elected by provincial synods.