Episcopal Church teams with ecumenical partners for 2018 Poor People’s Campaign: A National Call for Moral Revival

Episcopal Church teams with ecumenical partners for 2018 Poor People’s Campaign: A National Call for Moral Revival

Webinar available on February 26
February 23, 2018

In honor of the 50th Anniversary of the Poor People’s Campaign organized by the Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr., in 1968, the Episcopal Church is teaming with ecumenical partners including the National Council of Churches into action, ministry, and official relationship with the 2018 Poor People's Campaign: A National Call for Moral Revival.   

The Episcopal Church Executive Council approved a resolution at its January meeting “acknowledging the unfinished work of the 1968 Poor Peoples Campaign, celebrate the revival of the movement as the 2018 Poor People's Campaign: A National Call for Moral Revival.”

The resolution concluded that the Poor People’s Campaign will “recognize these issues of poverty and justice severely affect our domestic and global brothers and sisters and commit to ministry of active engagement, advocacy, and support throughout the Episcopal Church.”

“This is an important partnership and we are enthused that the Episcopal Church is teaming with others in this important initiative,” commented the Rev. Melanie Mullen, Director of Reconciliation, Justice and Creation Care.  “The work of the Episcopal Church through General Convention and Executive Council fully embodies the values of the gospel that underlie the Jesus Movement.”

For Episcopalians and the Episcopal Church, the goals of the Poor People's Campaign: A National Call for Moral Revival are:

  • To live into our partnerships with the National Council of Churches and with the Poor People’s Campaign;
  • To rally Episcopalians on the issues of poverty and justice;
  • To ask for consideration in joining marches occurring nationally on April 4, the anniversary of the assassination of the Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr., and Sunday, May 13, Mother’s Day;
  • To encourage all interested Episcopalians to sign up here to participate.

 

Resources

Episcopal resources to understand the significance of Poor People's Campaign: A National Call for Moral Revival, and for ways the individuals and congregations can enhance their ministry, see here

For information on Poor People's Campaign: A National Call for Moral Revival, see here.   

Webinar

To help understand the 2018 Poor People’s Campaign initiative and to explore ways to participate, a one-hour webinar has been scheduled for Monday, February 26 at 7 pm Eastern/6 pm Central/5 pm Mountain/4 pm Pacific/3 pm Alaska/2 pm Hawaii.  Registration is available here

For more information on Poor People's Campaign: A National Call for Moral Revival contact the Rev. Melanie Mullen.  

 

Share This: