January 25 webinar discusses Episcopal Church and the Middle East

January 25 webinar discusses Episcopal Church and the Middle East

January 18, 2018

“Mission, Ministry, and Advocacy: The Episcopal Church & the Middle East” is the topic of a January 25 webinar.

Hosted by the Episcopal Church Office of Government Relations, the free one-hour webinar is designed to be an informative online conversation on connections of ministry and relationship between the Episcopal Church and the entire Middle East.

The Office of Government Relations offers subject specific webinars on a periodic basis to help educate Episcopalians in preparation for advocacy. Previous webinars have focused on issues of immigration and refugee resettlement.

January 25 webinar

The January 25 webinar will be held 2 pm – 3 pm Eastern/1 pm – 2 pm Central/noon – 1 pm Mountain/11 am – noon Pacific/10 am – 11 am Alaska/9 am – 10 am Hawaii. Registration is available here. Pre-registration is advised.

Speakers will be the Rev. Canon Robert D. Edmunds, Episcopal Church Middle East Partnership Officer, and the Rev. Dr. Mae Elise Cannon, Executive Director of Churches for Middle East Peace. Facilitator will be the Rev. Margaret Rose, Episcopal Church Ecumenical and Interreligious Deputy to the Presiding Bishop.

Four primary topics will be addressed:

•           The Diocese of Jerusalem: Mission and ministries including collaboration with the Episcopal Church.

•           Palestine and Israel: From 40 years of the Episcopal Church’s official response to advocacy today.

•           The larger Middle East: The Province outside of Jerusalem, refugee issues, and advocacy

•           Ecumenical and Interreligious Collaboration: Our work and the work of partner Churches and faith groups.

For more information, contact Alan Yarborough, Communications Coordinator and Office Manager.

Office of Government Relations

The Episcopal Church Office of Government Relations (OGR) represents the priorities of the Episcopal Church to the policy community in Washington, D.C. Through engaging Congress, the Administration, and U.S. government departments and agencies, the Office of Government Relations aims to shape and influence policy on critical issues, highlighting the voices and experiences of Episcopalians and Anglicans globally. Advocacy priorities of the Office of Government Relations include refugees and immigration, environmental stewardship, and international development and conflict. Through the Episcopal Public Policy Network, the Office of Government Relations strives to equip Episcopalians to become advocates themselves on these critical issues.

 

Share This: