Join the Journey: Webinar explores ways to participate in The Good Book Club

Join the Journey: Webinar explores ways to participate in The Good Book Club

Reading the Gospel of Luke and the Acts of the Apostles

Join the Journey, a January 31 free webinar, will explore the many ways to participate and become enriched through The Good Book Club.

The Good Book Club is an Episcopal churchwide initiative that invites the reading of the Gospel of Luke and the Acts of the Apostles during the liturgical seasons of Lent and Easter 2018.  Led by Forward Movement, the Good Book Club readings begin the Sunday prior to Ash Wednesday (February 11), and finish on Pentecost (May 20).

During this webinar, the Rev. Jay Sidebotham and Forward Movement deputy director Richelle Thompson will help participants to prepare for the journey, providing context and background for Luke and Acts and sharing information about how to access and use dozens of resources created to encourage engagement with The Good Book Club.  

The 30-minute webinar will be conducted on Wednesday, January 31 beginning at 3:30 pm Eastern/2:30 pm Central/1:30 pm Mountain/12:30 pm Pacific/11:30 am Alaska/10:30 am Hawaii. Registration is available here.  Preregistration is suggested.  

In addition to the webinar, a wide range of resources, from prayers to videos to study guides, are now available from the more than 25 partners here. Spanish resources and information are available here.  A comprehensive toolkit link is here.  

The Good Book Club, Presiding Bishop Michael Curry has said, provides an opportunity to “read, mark, learn and inwardly digest the Holy Scriptures.”  He noted that “The Gospel of Luke tells the story of Jesus” while “the Acts of the Apostles tells the story of those who followed in the footsteps of Jesus.”

Resources continue to be added, so check the resource page regularly for personal development, group discussion and 2018 program planning.  Stay up-to-date by following The Good Book Club on Facebook here.

 

Partners

Partners in the Good Book Club are:
 

The Episcopal Church

Forward Movement

Acts 8 Movement

Bible Study Media  

Building Faith at the Center for the Ministry of Teaching 

Center for Biblical Studies

Consortium of Endowed Episcopal Parishes 

ChurchNext 

Episcopal Diocese of Central Gulf Coast

Episcopal Diocese of Washington 

Episcopal Camps and Conference Centers

Episcopal Church Office of Latino/Hispanic Ministries

Episcopal Church Women (ECW)

Episcopal Church Foundation

Episcopal Communicators

Episcopal Migrations Ministries

Forma

Gathering of Leaders

Grow Christians

Invite*Welcome*Connect

Missional Voices

PlainSong Farm

RenewalWorks

The Living Church

United Thank Offering

 

For more information, contact Jason Merritt at [email protected].

 

Tagged in: Good Book Club

Share This: