Sacred Ground race dialogue series informational webinar June 11, 2019

Sacred Ground race dialogue series informational webinar June 11, 2019

May 29, 2019

Individuals or groups interested in learning more about Sacred Ground: a film-based dialogue series on race and faith are invited to an introductory webinar hosted by Katrina Browne, Sacred Ground curriculum developer, and producer/director of the acclaimed documentary Traces of the Trade: A Story from the Deep North, and the Rev. Canon Stephanie Spellers, canon to the Presiding Bishop for evangelism, reconciliation, and creation care. 

Built around a curriculum of powerful documentary films, videos, and readings, Sacred Ground is a 10-part series that considers some of the major chapters of the United States of America’s history of race and racism.  It focuses on Indigenous, Black, Latino, and Asian American histories as they intersect with European American histories.  It also invites participants to weave in the threads of personal and family story, economic class, and political and regional identity.

In this webinar, Spellers and Browne share the “why and how” of the Sacred Ground series, including an overview of all of the elements of this resource. They will take participants through the online Sacred Ground curriculum and resources, including the password-protected pages. There will be time for questions.

This free one-hour webinar is offered on Tuesday June 11, 1pm Eastern (noon Central/11am Mountain/10am Pacific/9am Alaska/7am Hawaii); Register here.

Registration is required.

“More than a teaching tool, Sacred Ground calls us into intentional, sustained circles in which we can pray, watch, share our own stories, reflect, wonder, reckon, heal, and commit to action.  Think of it as a pilgrimage in place,” notes Spellers.

Click here to begin to explore the Sacred Ground webpages, and to sign up to receive additional resources.  The press release for the series is here.

For questions, please contact Katrina Browne at [email protected].

Webinar support graciously provided by Episcopal Migration Ministries.

Share This: