The Office of Public Affairs

The Public Affairs Office provides statistics, biographies, photos, background information, and other resources to media representatives reporting on the mission and ministries of The Episcopal Church

89 educational scholarships granted throughout Episcopal Church, Anglican Communion

June 30, 2016
Office of Public Affairs

Eighty-nine educational scholarships, totaling $302,684.95 have been awarded to students in 51 Episcopal Church dioceses as well as 13 Provinces of the Anglican Communion for the 2016-2017 academic year.

The Rev. Canon Stephanie Spellers, Canon to the Presiding Bishop for Evangelism and Reconciliation, who serves as the chair of the Scholarship Committee, said that 125 applications were received and reviewed.

Margareth Crosnier de Bellaistre, Domestic and Foreign Missionary Society Director of Investment Management and Banking, explained that scholarships were available for ethnic communities, children of missionaries, bishops and clergy, and other particular wide-ranging eligibility for education and training.  “Funding for the program is derived from annual income of designated trust funds established by generous donors,” she said.

The number of students and dioceses are:

1 Alabama; 1 Albany; 2 Arizona; 1 Arkansas; 2 Atlanta; 1 California; 1 Central Gulf Coast; 1 Chicago; 2 Dallas; 2 Dominican Republic; 1 Florida; 1 Fond du Lac; 2 Fort Worth; 1 Hawaii; 1 Idaho; 1 Indianapolis; 1 Iowa; 1 Long Island; 3 Los Angeles; 2 Maryland; 2 Massachusetts; 1 Mississippi; 1 Missouri; 2 Navajoland Area Mission; 1 Nevada; 1 New Hampshire; 1 New Jersey; 3 New York; 1 Newark; 1 North Dakota; 1 Northern California; 1 Oklahoma; 3 Olympia; 1 Pennsylvania; 1 Rhode Island; 1 Rio Grande; 1 South Carolina; 1 South Dakota; 5 Southeast Florida; 1 Southern Ohio; 1 Southern Virginia; 3 Southwest Florida; 1 Southwestern Virginia; 1 Spokane; 1 Tennessee; 1 Texas; 1 Vermont; 1 Virginia; 1 Washington; 1 Western Louisiana; 1 Western New York

The number of students and Anglican provinces/dioceses are:

2 Diocese of Aru (DR Congo); 3 Diocese of Boga (DR Congo); 1 China; 1 Diocese of Gogrial, Church of Sudan; 1 Diocese of Kinshasa (DR Congo); 1 Diocese of Kisangani (DR Congo); 1 Diocese of Marsabit, The Anglican Church of Kenya; 1 Diocese of Nayahururu, The Anglican Church of Kenya; 3 Diocese of North-Kivu (Anglican Church of Congo); 1 Northern Philippines, The Episcopal Church in the Philippines; 1 South Sudan; 1 Diocese of Tanga, The Anglican Church of Tanzania; 1 Diocese of Wau, Province of the Episcopal Church of South Sudan & Sudan

The lists of trust funds and scholarships as well as key information are here

Applications were carefully reviewed by subcommittees made up of dozens of church leaders in a wide variety of ministry areas. Their recommendations then came to the Scholarship Committee, which includes Spellers, the Director of Human Resources Management, officers for various ministries, and the Treasurer’s office. 

For information about the next cycle of scholarships, contact Ann Hercules, Mission Budget & Finance Management Associate. 

The next cycle of Scholarships will be for the academic year 2017-2018 and will open in March 2017.