Welcomes You

Old Catholic Churches of the Union of Utrecht

The Old Catholic Churches of the Union of Utrecht consist of several national churches in Europe, located in the Netherlands, Germany, Switzerland, Austria, the Czech Republic and Poland. These churches could not accept the definition of papal infallibility of the first Vatican Council in 1870. The Episcopal Church entered into full communion with the Old Catholic Churches of th eUnion of Utrecht on the basis of the Bonn Agreement in 1934. Included in this full communion arrangement was the Polish National Catholic Chruch (PNCC), which was a member of the Union of Utrecht until 2003. The PNCC terminated its relationship of full communion with the Episcopal Church in 1978 over women's ordination.