Maryland, Diocese of

This diocese was organized on Aug. 13, 1783, at Annapolis. On Oct. 12, 1868, the General Convention voted to divide the diocese and place some of the Maryland counties in the new Diocese of Easton. The 1895 General Convention created the Diocese of Washington and placed four Maryland counties in it. The Diocese of Maryland includes the following counties: Allegany, Ann Arundel, Calvert, Carroll, Frederick, Garrett, Hartford, Howard, and Washington. The city of Baltimore, which is not in a county, is also part of the diocese. On Feb. 1, 1955, the diocese passed a resolution establishing the Cathedral of the Incarnation, Baltimore, which was consecrated on Nov. 6, 1955.

Glossary definitions provided courtesy of Church Publishing Incorporated, New York, NY,(All Rights reserved) from "An Episcopal Dictionary of the Church, A User Friendly Reference for Episcopalians," Don S. Armentrout and Robert Boak Slocum, editors.


Share This: