An Episcopal Dictionary of the Church

Glossary of Terms

DuBose Memorial Church Training School, Monteagle, Tennessee

This school was one of the recognized theological seminaries of the Episcopal Church. It operated from Sept. 21, 1921, until Aug. 1944. It was founded by the Rev. William Sterling Claiborne (1877-1933) to train men for ordained ministry in rural areas. It was named in honor of William Porcher DuBose, late dean and professor at […]

DuBose, William Porcher

(Apr. 11, 1836-Aug. 18, 1918). Theologian and educator. He was born in Winnsboro, South Carolina. He graduated from The Citadel in 1855, and received his M.A. from the University of Virginia in 1859. His study for the ordained ministry at the Theological Seminary of the Protestant Episcopal Church in the Diocese of South Carolina at […]

Dudley, Helena Stuart

(Aug. 31, 1858-Sept. 29, 1932). Peace and labor activist. She was born in Nebraska, probably in Florence. Dudley graduated with the first class of Bryn Mawr College in 1889. She was acquainted with the founders of the settlement house movement. She participated in the establishment of the College Settlements Association in 1890. She became head […]


A term used in medieval theology to distinguish the reverence which may legitimately be paid to the saints from the worship (latria) which is paid only to God. Since both words can be translated as worship in English and most other languages, the distinction was important in the controversies concerning the veneration of saints, icons, […]

Duluth, Diocese of

The General Convention of 1895 voted to divide the Diocese of Minnesota and created the Missionary Diocese of Duluth. It consisted of the following counties: Aitken, Becker, Beltram, Benson, Big Stone, Carlton, Cass, Clay, Clearwater, Cook, Crow Wing, Douglas, Grant, Hahnomen, Hubbard, Itasca, Kanabec, Kittson, Koochiching, Lake, Lake of the Woods, Marshall, Mille Lacs, Morrison, […]

Dun, Angus

(May 4, 1892-Aug. 12, 1971). Bishop and leading ecumenist. He was born in New York City. Dun received his B.A. from Yale University in 1914 and his B.D. from the Episcopal Theological School in 1917. He was ordained deacon on May 17, 1917, and priest on Nov. 20, 1917. Dun was vicar of St. Andrew's […]


(c. 909-May 19, 988). Monk, statesman, educator, Benedictine monastic reformer, and Archbishop of Canterbury. In 943 he became the Abbot of Glastonbury. He made Glastonbury famous for its asceticism and scholarship. In 957 he became the Bishop of Worcester. In 959 he became Bishop of London. That same year King Edgar of Mercia and Northumbria […]

Dyer, Herman

(Sept. 24, 1810-July 29, 1900). Nineteenth-century leader of the evangelical party. He was born in Shaftesbury, Vermont. Dyer graduated from Kenyon College in 1833 and studied at Bexley Hall. He was ordained deacon on Sept. 7, 1834, and priest on Sept. 11, 1836. Dyer taught school for a while. In 1840 he became a professor […]

Dykman, Jackson Annan

(July 11, 1887-Feb. 7, 1983). Canon lawyer. He was born in Brooklyn, New York. Dykman received his B.A. from Yale University in 1909, and his LL.B. from Harvard Law School in 1912. He was admitted to the New York bar in 1913. Dykman was chancellor of the Diocese of Long Island, 1925-1952, and a member […]

East Carolina, Diocese of

The 1883 General Convention voted to divide the Diocese of North Carolina. The primary convention of the new diocese met Dec. 12-13, 1883, at Christ Church, New Bern, and chose the name the Diocese of East Carolina. It includes the following counties: Beaufort, Bertie, Bladen, Brunswick, Camden, Carteret, Chowan, Columbus, Craven, Cumberland, Currituck, Dare, Duplin, […]

East Tennessee, Diocese of

The General Convention of 1982 voted to divide the Diocese of Tennessee into three Dioceses-Tennessee, East Tennessee, and West Tennessee. The Diocese of East Tennessee held its primary convention on Oct. 5-6, 1984, in Knoxville. The diocese includes the following counties: Anderson, Bledsoe, Blount, Bradley, Campbell, Carter, Claiborne, Cocke, Cumberland, Grainger, Greene, Hamblen, Hamilton, Hancock, […]


The feast of Christ's resurrection. According to Bede, the word derives from the Anglo-Saxon spring goddess Eostre. Christians in England applied the word to the principal festival of the church year, both day and season. 1) Easter Day is the annual feast of the resurrection, the pascha or Christian Passover, and the eighth day of […]

Easter Eve, Easter Even

The Saturday before Easter. In the early church it was a day of fasting and preparation for the Easter Vigil. There is no celebration of the eucharist on this day, in accordance with church tradition. The term “Easter Even” was used by the 1549 Prayer Book. The 1979 BCP uses the title “Holy Saturday” for […]

Easter Vigil

The liturgy intended as the first (and arguably, the primary) celebration of Easter in the BCP (pp. 284-95). It is also known as the Great Vigil. The service begins in darkness, sometime between sunset on Holy Saturday and sunrise on Easter, and consists of four parts: The Service of Light (kindling of new fire, lighting […]

Eastern Catholic Churches

Byzantine or Eastern Rite churches which retain their rites, canons, customs, and national language, but are in full communion with the Roman Catholic Church. They include Albanian, Armenian, Bulgarian, Chaldean, Coptic, Ethiopian, Georgian, Greek, Hungarian, Italo-Albanian, Malabarese, Malankarese, Maronite, Melkite, Romanian, Russian, Ruthenian, Slovak, Syrian, Ukrainian, and Yugoslavian churches. The largest group is the Ukrainian. […]

Eastern Diocese

On May 29, 1810, representatives from New Hampshire, Vermont, Rhode Island, and Massachusetts (at that time including Maine) met at Boston and organized the Eastern Diocese. This was not a diocese in the regular sense, but an arrangement whereby four weak dioceses could work together. On May 29, 1811, Alexander Viets Griswold was consecrated Bishop […]

Eastern Michigan, Diocese of

The General Convention of 1994 voted to divide the Diocese of Michigan. The new diocese consists of the following counties: Alcona, Alpena, Arenac, Bay, Cheboygan, Crawford, Genesee, Gladwin, Gratiot, Huron, Iosco, Lapeer, Midland, Montmorency, Ogemaw, Oscoda, Otsego, Presque Isle, Roscommon, Saginaw, St. Clair, Sanilac, Shiawassee, Tuscola, that part of Oakland County comprising Holly Township, and […]

Eastern Oklahoma, Missionary District of

On Oct. 11, 1910, the General Convention formed this missionary district. It consisted of the counties lying east of the west line of the counties of Creek, Johnston, Marshall, Okfuskee, Osage, Pontotoc, and Seminole. It had only one bishop. On Oct. 10, 1919, the House of Bishops reunited it with the Missionary District of Oklahoma.

Eastern Oregon, Diocese of

The General Convention of 1907 voted to divide the Diocese of Oregon and form the Missionary District of Eastern Oregon. It was a missionary district from 1907 to 1971. The primary convention of the Diocese of Eastern Oregon met at the Church of the Redeemer, Pendleton, Nov. 19-21, 1971. It includes the following Oregon counties: […]


Another term for Easter season, the Great Fifty Days. As used in English-speaking churches, “tide” is an old word meaning a festival and its season.

2647 records

Glossary definitions provided courtesy of Church Publishing Incorporated, New York, NY,(All Rights reserved) from “An Episcopal Dictionary of the Church, A User Friendly Reference for Episcopalians,” Don S. Armentrout and Robert Boak Slocum, editors.