September 27

Sep 27

On this day in 1947, The Church of South India was formed by the merger of three denominations: the Anglican Church (dioceses of Madras, Tinnevelly, Travancore and Chocin and Dornakal plus dioceses of the Church of India, Burma and Ceylon), the South India province of the Methodist Church and the South India United Church (formed originally by a 1908 union of Presbyterian and Congregational churches). The merger was the first union ever between episcopal (bishop-led) and non-episcopal (congregation-led) bodies.

image field raw: