Episcopal Church “1st Fridays at 4” online gathering discusses innovative ministry development

Lundi, Juillet 25, 2011
Join the Episcopal Church online gathering “1st Fridays at 4” and participate in discussions about Fresh Expressions or emergent ministries.

Sponsored by the Episcopal Church Office of Ministry Redevelopment and coordinated by the Rev. Thomas Brackett, Missioner for Church Planting, Ministry Redevelopment and Fresh Expressions, the next online gathering is August 5 from 4 pm to 5:30 pm Eastern (3 pm â€" 4:30 pm Central; 2 pm â€" 3:30 pm Mountain; 1 pm â€" 2:30 pm Pacific; noon â€" 1:30 pm Alaska; 11 am â€" 12:30 pm Hawaii).

Featured on August 5 will be church planter the Rev. Jimmy Bartz, who leads Thad's, an experimental community of the Episcopal Diocese of Los Angeles.

“The Rev. Jimmy Bartz has some fresh perspectives on what it means to ‘be Church’ in the context the community is called to serve,” Brackett said. “He also speaks clearly to the disciplines and practices that are essential for planting a vital and self-sustaining ministry.”

Call participants can ask questions and “test out ideas with Jimmy as you explore the application of his claims there in your local community,” Brackett added.

Participation is available three ways: telephone; telephone and watch the live video stream on the Web; telephone and participate in video conference with a webcam

To send questions in advance: tbrackett@episcopalchurch.org .

No advance registration is required.

For info on participating/watching the videoconference: http://bit.ly/bgP5xg

For more information and for participation codes contact Brackett at tbrackett@episcopalchurch.org.

1st Fridays at 4

Conducted on the first Friday of every month, 1st Fridays at 4 are 90-minute sessions featuring sharing, skills training, peer support and question/answers.

“Our hope is to connect leaders of Fresh Expressions of church to each other, across our denominations,” Brackett noted. “We generally focus on the characteristics of ‘emergence’ and what it means to partner with the Spirit in support of that which is being birthed. We also talk about the personal practices that sustain us in the ‘waiting for God.’”


The Episcopal Church welcomes all who worship Jesus Christ in 109 dioceses and three regional areas in 16 nations. The Episcopal Church is a member province of the worldwide Anglican Communion.

Episcopal Church New Ministry Development: www.episcopalchurch.org/newmindevelopment

Thad's: http://www.allsaintsassociation.org/people.html

Episcopal Diocese of Los Angeles: http://www.ladiocese.org/


The Episcopal Church: www.episcopalchurch.org
Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/episcopalian
Twitter: http://twitter.com/iamepiscopalian
YouTube: http://www.youtube.com/TECtube